by Lovewhip

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $10 USD  or more


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 5 Lovewhip releases available on Bandcamp and save 25%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Love Electric, Virtual Booty Machine, Bouncehall, Whip It Baby!, and Live Booty Pop. , and , .

      $37.50 USD or more (25% OFF)




Lovewhip's sophomore album!


Lovewhip needs a sat AM cartoon! chink, choo, chink, choo, chink, chink! yeah!!!!! Screw the brooding indie rockers and their pouty stupid problems! Lovewhip guys know how party! They are putting fun back into... ehhh... Whereever it is missing! And I am there! Yeeeeeeaaaaaaa! Weeeeeee!



Excellent, fun CD! I stumbled on Lovewhip in a bar on Block Island and was really impressed with the level of musicianship in the band. Bouncehall is a totally infectious CD! These guys/gals are really great. Excellent production and just a fun CD all around.



I love this CD sooo much that all my friends know better than to bring another cd!



The title track says it all: "Come with me to the dance floor now, you don't have to worry if you don't know how, all you have to do is move your feet and shake your body to the beat." This album that combines reggae, afro-pop, ska, soca and something called "world booty funk" into a celebratory, irresistible party soundtrack. Tina Weymouth and Chris Frantz of the Talking Heads/Tom Tom Club were sufficiently impressed to add a saucy remix of the title track. Pure joy!

-Sarah Rodman, Boston Herald



released May 1, 2003

Erin Harpe - vocals, guitar, mbira
Jim Countryman - bass
Nancy Loedy - alto sax,piccolo, harmelodica, flute
Karl Grohmann - drums, talking drum
Garo Saraydarian - trombone
Michael O'Connor - tenor sax
Cheryl Etu - marimba, vibes, backing vocals, triangle, tambourine
Jesse Seymour - congas, bells, wood block, shaker

All horns arranged by Nancy Loedy.
All songs written by Countryman/Harpe except #4 (Prince Nico Mbarga, Nigeria) & #5 (Uyoga, Kenya).

Produced by Jim Countryman and Erin Harpe.
Engineered by Joshua Driscoll at Wellspring Sound in Acton, MA.
Mastered by Toby Mountain at Northeastern Digital, Southborough, MA.
Track 10 remix of track produced by Tina Weymouth and Chris Frantz, and engineered by Alec Head, remixed by DJ MonkOne, Brooklyn NY.
Design by Erin Harpe.

Copyright 2003 Squirrelygirl Music/Juicy Juju Records.

Josh Driscoll
Michael O'Connor and Pressure Cooker
Garo Saraydarian
Jesse Seymour
Cheryl Etu and Caleb Williams
Scotty P
Chris Frantz, Tina Weymouth, Mystic Bowie, and the rest of the Tom Tom Club
Ken Cmar at Wonderdrug
Martine and John Baker
Martin Bernert
Andy and Donna Chambers
Ken McKlinski
Eric Van Vlandren
Garth Shaneyfelt and Melissa Baughman
Tamara Golden
Jamaica Plain MA
City Feed and supply
Ron's Auto
The Loveteam
all of our fans
especially Kate and Brandy
Steve, Nick, and Jamil



all rights reserved


Lovewhip Boston

Lead by singer/guitarist Empress Erin, Lovewhip plays psychedelic electro rock, featuring Jim Countryman on bass, Matt Cat on electro harmonica and Pariah Beats on drums. The Boston Award-Winning band's been called “a mash up of all the world's most danceable music, from electro to Afro-beat, to reggaeton and post-punk” (Weekly Dig), and “more fun than a truckload of Cyndi Laupers!” (Press Herald) ... more

contact / help

Contact Lovewhip

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code